+1 234 567 890
General Cricket


by: conrad_a_bedford



National coach Bobby Denning and Team manager George Wambeek have named the squad of 14 players who will represent Spain at the forthcoming ICC Twenty20 Division torneo in Belgium this summer.

The squad was named shortly after the Triangular tournament at La Manga last month that saw Spain compete successfully in matches against Belgium and Gibraltar. Along with the players, 3 officials will represent Spain. George Wambeek will be the team manager, and Bobby Denning will be overseeing coaching duties. John Howden will be score for La Seleccion in this years competition.

The players and officialswill be based in Antwerp, Belgium for the competition between the 20th-26th June and they will be competing against 11 other countries. The exact format for the competion is still to be confirmed but Spain will be confident of doing better than their third place finish in the ICC Division 3 championship played at La Manga two years ago.

The squad for the 2011 torneo.


Coach Bobby Denning. – Level 4 coach who has been withSpainsince 2008.Also coaches the English Deaf Team and is also the Cricket Development Manager for the Lancashire Cricket Board.

Manager George Wambeek – Director of La Manga Cricket Club and Spanish Cricket. The heart and soul of Spanish Cricket

Scorer John Howden – RepresentingSpainin a scoring capacity for a third time in an ICC tournament having previously scored for the Senior squad in 2009 and the Under 17 side inDusseldorfin 2008.



Captain –Jim Morgan La Manga CC. Former Yorkshire Academy player, captainingSpainfor the first time in an ICC torneo. RHBat and in contention for wicket keeping duties.

Vice Captain – Mark Spencer – Sporting Alfas CC RHBat – Former Derbyshire player who bowls occaisonal spin. Captain of the national team for the 2009 tournament in La Manga.

Shafique Ali – Sporting Alfas CC RHBat and long time wicket keeper forSpain. Finished 2cd in the batting averages the last timeSpainplayed an ICC tournament inBelgiumin 2007.

Sajad Ali – La Manga CC All rounder – opens for his club with the bat, also his first ICC tournament. Brother of Talat.

Talat Ali – La Manga CC RHBowler – Fast lively bowler who is a handful for any batsman

Gary Crompton – Sporting Alfas RHBat – Classy batsman who also bowls spin. First ICC tournament but unlikely to be his last.

Mohib Hussein – Falco CC –  RHBowler – His first ICC Europe tournament. Possible first change bowler for “ La Seleccion”

Tanveer Iqbal  – Falco CC. RHBowler – Another fiery customer who is likely to open the bowling attack forSpain. Picked up the man of the tournament award at the ICC Europe Division 3 event in 2009

Armaghan Khan – Cataluyna CC – Another all rounder. Second ICC tournament and the only representative from last years Spanish national champions

Irshad Khan – Madrid CC All rounder – left hander with an explosive batting style who can also chip in with wickets.

Farhat Mahmood – La Manga CC – All rounder. Expected to be the main spin bowler for the Spaniards and can be relied on to contribute with the bat.

Christian Munoz Mills – Sporting Alfas CC – All rounder. Spanish national. Youngest member of the squad and captain of the Spanish Juniors. Bright cricketing future ahead.

Wasim Ul – Rehman Sporting Alfas CC – LHBowler – Cagey spinner who is a regular fixture in the Spanish National squad.

Pedro Venus – Gravesend CC – All rounder – Spanish national who lives in the United Kingdom and opens the batting for Gravesend CC in the Kent league


Leave a comment




Background Image

Color Skin