+1 234 567 890
General Cricket


by: conrad_a_bedford


This weekend Ibiza, Menorca and Mallorca Cricket Clubs will contest the annual Balearic Cup.

The hosts are once again Menorca, who are also the current holders, having won both games against their fellow islanders last year to claim the trophy for the first time since 2010.

Menorca warmed up with two competitive matches last weekend against a touring side (Big West Cricket Club) and they shared the two match series. Young all rounder James Davies is in form at the right time scoring 90 and 92 on consecutive days and Andy Tysoe and Jeffrey Barker were also amongst the runs, leaving the hosts confident that they will retain the trophy.

Mallorca Cricket Club, who last won the trophy in 2014 will be hoping to go one further than last year when they beat Ibiza by six wickets on day two before losing out to Menorca on the final day by 43 runs.

Disappointed at last years results Ibiza will be looking to take the trophy back home for the first time since 2013. They warmed up with two wins over the mainlanders Sporting Alfas, who were touring as part of the 70th birthday celebrations and “stag do” of Spanish cricketing stalwart Geoff Evans.

The former Javea star wil once again be spearheading the Spanish Over XL’s batting when they play an international tournament in Rotterdam in later in the year.

However, most neutrals will be hoping for the same outcome as the 2015 Balearic Cup when it was a tie between all the three islands. In that event, Mallorca beat Ibiza, Ibiza beat Menorca and Menorca beat Mallorca to share the trophy. 

Anyone in Menorca can catch the games this weekend at the wonderful Biniparrell Ground. Free entrance, 1.30 pm start all three days ..

Friday 12 May: Menorca v Ibiza
Saturday 13 May: Ibiza v Mallorca
Sunday 14 May: Mallorca v Menorca 


Menorca Cricket Ground

Leave a comment




Background Image

Color Skin