cricketspain logo
Google-Translate-English to Spanish
1st August 2011


Isle of Man v Spain at KWC2.
Isle of Man won by 6 wickets
 Spain 79 (25.4 overs) M Ansell 4-26
 Isle of Man 83-4 (13.3 overs) J Rowlands 39

Spain finished the group stages of the Under 19 tournment in 3rd place after a 6 wicket loss against the hosts Isle of Man

The Manxmen won a good toss in overcast conditions and put Spin into bat. This proved to be an excellent decision as Spain were bowled out for just 79 in 25.4 overs.

Isle of Man had little difficulty in chasing down the runs losing only 3 wickets in the process.

Regardless of the Gibraltar v Germany result Spain will finish in 3rd place and will play their 3rd place counterparts from group B in their final game of the event.

Isle of Man                 4    3    0    1    0    7     3.27
Italy                           4    3    0    1    0    7     1.85
Spain                          4    2    0    0    2    4    -0.14
Gibraltar                     4    1    0    0    3    2    -1.19
Germany                    4    0    0    0    4    0    -2.86

Match report from ICC 

The Isle of Man have qualified for the final of the European Under-19 Division Two Championship after a big win over Spain at King William's College today.

After winning the toss, the hosts quickly elected to bat first in overcast and slightly damp conditions. They then tore through the Spanish top order, reducing them to 29-6. Matthew Ansell took four wickets, including three in four balls, just missing a hat-trick when a ball bounced just over the top of the stumps.

Spain staged a mini recovery, but were eventually bowled out for just 79, extras being the top scorer with 21.

This was never going to be enough and the Manxmen easily knocked off the required runs in 13.3 overs to win by six wickets, Jake Rowlands hitting 39 from 40 balls including three sixes to secure his teams place in tomorrow's final against Denmark.

Spain flag Spain

  • Joel Brook
  • Charles Cook
  • Abdullah Danish
  • Ben Girling
  • Antonio Gomez-Brown
  • Alfie Harris
  • Faisal Muhammad
  • Callum Murphy
  • Akash Panchal
  • Ravi Panchal
  • Jamie Roper
  • Jake Sunderland
  • Tom Vine
  • Neil Brook (Coach)
  • Armaghan Khan (Manager)


Isle of Man flag Isle of Man

  • Matthew Ansell
  • Sebastian Aycock
  • Jacob Hicklin
  • Daniel Hawke
  • Richard Jackson
  • Shaun Kelly
  • Adam Killey
  • Daniel Laughlin
  • Adam Mcauley
  • Jack Rowlands
  • Alasdair Slack
  • Alex Stokoe
  • Carl Wagstaffe
  • Gareth Dawson (Manager)
  • Philip Littlejohns (Coach)