cricketspain logo
Google-Translate-English to Spanish
14th May 2017

Day Three of the triangular Balearic Tournament was all set for a fascinating climax as it boiled down a winner takes all match between Menorca and Mallorca.

Both sides had beat Ibiza comfortably on previous days, so the spectators were hoping for a nailbiting final. Unfortunately, it was a one sided affair with the visitors Mallorca winning comfortably and taking the Balearic Trophy outright for the first time since 2014.

Mallorca batted first and set a better than par score of 241 all out. Menorca started badly and it did not get better at any stage of the home sides innings as they were skittled out for a meagre 79 runs. The 161 run margin on top of their 210 run victory over Ibiza yesterday ensured they became worthy champions.

Congratulations to all three teams that took part in this years compition.

Friday 12th May

Menorca 239 for 7 beat Ibiza 118 all out by 121 runs.

Saturday 13th May 

Mallorca 281 for 8 beat Ibiza 71 all out by 210 runs.

Sunday 14th May 

Mallorca 241 all out beat Menorca 79 all out by 161 runs.

MALLORCA CRICKET CLUB Logo                                                       inn